All Academic Programs


Over the years, numerous donors have established endowed awards and traveling fellowships at the GSD. The following prizes are administered by the Department of Architecture:

AIA Henry Adams Medal
Each year the American Institute of Architects awards an engraved medal to the top-ranking graduating student in each architecture program accredited by the National Council of Architectural Accrediting Board. This award is provided as a part of the AIA/AAF Scholarship Program.

AIA Henry Adams Certificate
Each year the American Institute of Architects awards a certificate of merit to the second-highest-ranking graduating student in each architecture program accredited by the National Council of Architectural Accrediting Board.  This award and the AIA Henry Adams Medal are provided as a part of the AIA/AAF Scholarship Program.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal
This medal is awarded annually by the Grand Council of Alpha Rho Chi, on recommendation of the faculty in the Department of Architecture, to that graduate of the professional degree program who has achieved the best general record for professional merit through attitude and personality.

Araldo A. Cossutta Annual Prize for Design Excellence
This award was established in 1994 through an endowment by New York architect Araldo Cossutta, MArch ’52. It is presented annually to a student of merit who has successfully completed the core program for MArch I and whose design consistently shows outstanding promise.

Clifford Wong Prize
This Clifford Wong Prize in Housing Design aims to help re-establish the essential role of architects in society to provide not only the fundamental needs of human shelter but to meet the challenge of designing creative solutions for improving living environments. The prize shall be awarded for the best student project in a design studio or thesis created during the current academic year which has as its primary focus multi-family housing design. 

ETH Zurich Exchange Program
This exchange program offers two MArch I or MArch I AP students the unique opportunity to study Architecture at one of the leading European Architecture Schools located in Zurich, Switzerland during the Spring term. Participants will be able to choose studio critics from among ETH’s internationally renowned faculty and visiting professors, and additionally enroll in ETH’s wide variety of lecture courses and seminars.

Department of Architecture Faculty Design Award
Upon recommendation of the faculty in the Department of Architecture, this award is presented annually to a graduating student from each of the MArch I and MArch II programs. It is given in recognition of significant achievement throughout the relevant program’s design studio sequence.

Julia Amory Appleton Traveling Fellowship
Architect Charles F. McKim of New York City donated a gift to Harvard in 1906 in memory of his wife, Julia Amory Appleton, to establish this traveling and study fellowship. It may be awarded annually to a graduating student in architecture, on the basis of his or her achievements at the school and the worthiness of the project to be undertaken.

John E. Thayer Award
The Harvard University John E. Thayer Award is given to one graduate from each of the graduate schools.  It is to be awarded to the most “meritorious scholar” who has financial need.  

James Templeton Kelley Prize (MArch I and MArch II)
On nomination by the faculty in the Department of Architecture, the Boston Society of Architects, a chapter of the AIA, awards the James Templeton Kelley Prize annually for the best final design project submitted by a candidate for the professional degree in architecture.

Kevin V. Kieran Award
This prize was established in 2001 with gifts from family and friends, in memory of Kevin Kieran, former faculty member and graduate from the Master in Architecture program in 1985. The prize is awarded by the Department of Architecture in recognition of the highest level of academic achievement among students graduating from the postprofessional Master in Architecture (MArch II) program.

KPF Travel Fellowship
Each year, Kohn Pedersen Fox presents three $10,000 awards to students who are in their penultimate year at one of the twenty-six design schools with whom KPF has chosen to partner. The goal of the award is to allow students to broaden their education through a summer of travel before their final year at school.

Peter Rice Internship Program at Renzo Piano Building Workshop
This internship was established by the Renzo Piano Building Workshop Foundation. It is awareded to one MArch I or MArch I AP student who prior to the beginning of the internship has completed the core program but has not yet begun their thesis. Under the tutelage of a senior architect, the intern will spend approximately six months over the Spring semester at the RPBW in Paris, France. The experience involves a combination of work and study, including practical training, seminars, and documentation.

Plimpton-Poorvu Design Prize
Established with a gift by long-term friends, business partners, and GSD advocates Samuel Plimpton MBA ‘ 77, MArch ’80 and William J. Poorvu MBA ’58, the Plimpton-Poorvu Design Prize will recognize the top team or an individual for a commercially viable real estate project completed as part of the GSD curricula that best demonstrates feasibility in design, construction, economics, and in fulfillment of market and user needs. 

Takenaka Summer Internship
The Takenaka Corporation, one of Japan's leading full-service design and construction firms, offers a 3-month Summer Internship in the Architectural Design division of its Tokyo headquarters. Interns will participate in collaborative design teams working on institutional, commercial, and/or residential design projects; visits to construction sites, research labs, and other Takenaka facilities are activities included in the internship.

Wheelwright Prize
The Wheelwright Prize is a $100,000 traveling fellowship awarded annually to talented early-career architects worldwide proposing exceptional itineraries for research and discovery.

Content is loading...
Parent Page