All Academic Programs

James Templeton Kelley Prize

Awarded By

Boston Society of Architects


This prize is offered by the Boston Society of Architects, a chapter of the AIA. Upon nomination by the faculty, it is awarded annually for the best final design project submitted by an MArch degree candidate. MArch I and MArch II students who do a thesis and receive Distinction or High Pass for their final thesis project are automatically nominated. Graduating MArch II students who do not do a thesis must be nominated by their final studio instructor.

Nature of Award

Type of award:

  • Honors (medal, certificate, book, trophy, etc)
  • Exhibition, publication, or other display of work

Full description of award:
Certificate, letter, gallery exhibition

Number Available



General restrictions:

  • Must be Harvard student
  • Must be GSD student
  • Specific degree/program (see below)

Full description of eligibility restrictions:
Graduating MArch students


January Thesis Students: The Program Coordinator will share a copy of the final PDF submitted by students who received a grade of HP or DIS to submit to the committee.

May Thesis Students: Students who receive a HP or Distinction may be contacted by the department and asked to submit their final design project on the Architecture Department Awards iSite on May 21 or 22, 2013.

MArch II Students: Students who are nominated by their final studio instructor will be contacted by the department (approximately May 7-8) and asked to submit their final design project. Application materials should be uploaded to the Architecture Department Awards iSite by May 20, 2013.

A final vote will be made at the last departmental meeting of the semester and announced at the GSD commencement ceremonies on May 30, 2013. The students will be notified May 24, 2013 and contacted by the exhibitions department.

Basis of Award

Best thesis or final design project


See above.

When Awarded



Architecture Dept (Rm 207)

Previous Winners

2013: MArch I, James Leng, and MArch II, Mariano Gomez Luque
2012: MArch I, Ben Brady, and MArch II, Yarinda Bunnag and Mark Rukamathu
2011: MArch I, Gregory Tran, and MArch II, Etien Santiago
2010: MArch I, Megan Panzano and MArch II, Nicolas Fayad
2009: MArch I, Jennifer Bonner and MArch II, Maja Paklar
2008: Behrang Behin
2007: Andrew Wells Baccon
2006: Richard Lam
2005: Daniel Sewall Adams
2004: Jason Halaby
2003: Angus Eade, Bryan Young
2002: Christian CV Alba
2001: Steven Lee 
2000: Thomas Robinson 
1999: Michael Samra, Maiya Dos and Lindsay Smith 
1998: Leekyung Han, Alexandra Barker 
1997: Matthew Littell 
1996: Eric Bunge 
1995: Daniel Castor, Paul Yuen

Content is loading...
Parent Page