All Academic Programs

Julia Amory Appleton Traveling Fellowship in Architecture

Awarded By
Architecture Department

The Julia A. Appleton Traveling Fellowship in Architecture was established in 1906 from a gift given to the President and Fellows of Harvard College by Charles F. McKim of New York City. This gift was made as a permanent foundation for a traveling fellowship in architecture to be called, in memory of his wife, the Julia Amory Appleton Traveling Fellowship in Architecture.

The fellowship is granted annually to one graduating architecture student and is open to both MArch I and MArch II students. The fellowship is approximately $30,000 and is to be used for travel and study. The fellowship is awarded based on academic record at the GSD, degree and sponsorship of previous travel experience, statement of purpose for travel and a portfolio of work done at the GSD.

Nature of Award
Type of award: Travel, research or other grant

Full description of award:
Approximately $30,000 and is to be used for travel and study

Number Available
1, awarded annually at Commencement

General restrictions:
Open to all MArch I and MArch II students graduating in the current academic year.

The award will be judged in two parts, in the following manner:

Part I:

Students must submit an application* with a 2-5 page travel proposal by midnight, Sunday April 17, 2016. Application materials should be uploaded to a link sent out by the department by the deadline.

Part II

Finalists selected from Part 1 should submit a Porfolio, which must be uploaded by midnight Monday May 16, 2016. For MArch I students, the portfolio should contain a record of the first six semesters of design work completed at the GSD, as well as the thesis**.  For MArch AP students, your portfolio would be expected to include four semesters of design work, plus thesis. For MArch II students, your portfolio should include design work completed during all three semesters at the GSD.  A faculty committee will review the submitted portfolios and choose a group of finalists to submit for the second round of judging.

*The application should be downloaded, then opened to enable the use of form fields
**The primary emphasis of the portfolio should be on academic work completed at the GSD. However, competition & profesional work may be included, provided it is clearly labeled as such.  When work is completed as part of a collaborative team, the student's individual contribution should be made explicit.

Basis of Award
Academic record, travel experience, statement, portfolio

Part 1: April 17 (midnight)
Part 2: May 16 (midnight)

When Awarded

Architecture Dept (Rm 207)

Previous Winners

2015: Jessie Wilcox
2014: Joanna Rodriguez-Noyola
2013: Caroline Shannon
2012: Cara Liberatore
2011: Jenny French
2010: Erin Kasimow
2009: Lisa Haber-Thomson
2008: Sondra Danielle Fein
2007: Anna Aleksandrovna Neimark
2006: Laura Christina Crescimano
2005: Aziza Chaouni
2004: Jeannette Kuo, Scott Snyder
2003: Susi Sanchez, Ivan Rupnik
2002: David Hill
2001: David Goodman 
2000: Sandy Attia
1999: Matteo Scagnol 
1998: Michelle Tarsney 
1997: Francisco Rodriguez 
1996: John Hong 
1995: Simon Hsu

Content is loading...
Parent Page