All Academic Programs
Anya Domlesky and Martin Pavlinic Least Mapped City Award

Fellowships, Prizes & Travel Programs

Over the years, numerous donors have established endowed awards and traveling fellowships at Harvard University and at the Graduate School of Design.

The following prizes and awards are administered by the Department of Landscape Architecture:

Charles Eliot Traveling Fellowship in Landscape Architecture

Established in 1914 by a gift to honor Harvard alumnus Charles Eliot, this traveling fellowship may be awarded annually on recommendation by the faculty in the Department of Landscape Architecture to a GSD graduate who has received the Master in Landscape Architecture degree within three years of the date of the award. It is the highest honor the department can bestow on its graduates.

Jacob Weidenman Prize

This prize may be awarded annually to the landscape architecture student who has shown outstanding ability and talent in design. It was established by a bequest from the daughter of Jacob Weidenman, who devoted himself between 1829 and 1893 to the study and practice of landscape architecture.

Peter Walker and Partners Fellowship for Landscape Architecture

This Fellowship was established with a generous gift from Peter Walker and Partners to provide in perpetuity an annual award to support travel and study for GSD students to advance their understanding of the body of scholarship and practices related to landscape design.  The Fellowship will be granted following graduation to support travel that extends the learning experience of the formal educational program by providing young landscape architecture designers an opportunity to spend a concentrated period of time studying landscape design in various parts of the world.  Each holder of the Fellowship is expected to deliver a lecture or participate in a symposium or other event, sharing his/her travel studies with the GSD community.  Candidates for the Fellowship are selected from the graduating class by the faculty of the Department of Landscape Architectur, based on accomplishment in landscape design.

Plimpton-Poorvu Design Prize
Established with a gift by long-term friends, business partners, and GSD advocates Samuel Plimpton MBA ‘ 77, MArch ’80 and William J. Poorvu MBA ’58, the Plimpton-Poorvu Design Prize will recognize the top team or an individual for a commercially viable real estate project completed as part of the GSD curricula that best demonstrates feasibility in design, construction, economics, and in fulfillment of market and user needs. 

American Society of Landscape Architects Awards

On nomination by the faculty in the Department of Landscape Architecture, the ASLA awards a Certificate of Honor and a Certificate of Merit to students enrolled in the Master in Landscape Architecture program who have "demonstrated a high degree of academic scholarship and of accomplishment in skills related to the art and technology of landscape architecture."

Norman T. Newton Prize

In 1992, Mrs. Norman T. Newton created a fund in memory of her late husband, Norman T. Newton, professor emeritus of the GSD, for an annual prize to be awarded to a graduating landscape architecture student whose work best exemplifies achievement in design expression as realized in any medium.

Penny White Student Projects Fund

This grant program was established by her family in 1976 to "help carry forward Penny's ideal of a culture which emphasizes a close relationship between people and nature in a cohesive living environment." Several grants are offered, once annually, for submitted projects.

Content is loading...
Parent Page