2015 Wheelwright Prize now accepting applications

Submissions are now being accepted for the 2015 Wheelwright Prize. The open international competition awards $100,000 to a talented early-career architect to support travel-based research.

This annual prize is dedicated to fostering new forms of architectural research informed by cross-cultural engagement. Applications will be accepted via the competition website through February 9. Candidates must register by starting the application by January 16.

The international prize jury includes: Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean of Harvard GSD; Craig Evan Barton, Director of the Design School at the Herberger Institure for Design and the Arts at Arizona State University; Preston Scott Cohen, professor and former Chair of Architecture at Harvard GSD; K. Michael Hays, professor and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at Harvard GSD, Jorge Silvetti, a principal of Boston-based firm Machado and Silvetti Associates and professor at Harvard GSD; Elisa Silva, founder of Enlace Arquitectura as well as professor at the Simón Bolívar University in Venezuela; and Sarah Herda, director of the Graham Foundation for Advanced Study in the Fine Arts in Chicago.

In 2013, the GSD revamped the Arthur W. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, which was established in 1935 in memory of Wheelwright, Class of 1887. Intended to encourage the study of architecture outside the United States at a time when international travel was difficult, the award was available only to GSD alumni; past fellows have included Paul Rudolph, Eliot Noyes, William Wurster, Christopher Tunnard, I. M. Pei, Farès el-Dahdah, Adele Santos, and Linda Pollak.

For more information on the competition, and to enter, please visit