ASLA honors GSD alumni and faculty

GSD faculty and alumni were among the 2013 honors recipients in a recent announcement by The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA).

Stuart Dawson (MLA ’58), principal emeritus of Sasaki Associates, will receive the ASLA Design Medal in recognition of exceptional design work over a sustained period of at least ten years. Reed Hilderbrand, firm of Gary Hilderbrand (adjunct professor of landscape architecture and MLA ’85) and Douglas Reed (MLA ’81), will receive the Landscape Architecture Firm Award, the highest award ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architecture firm. Max Conrad (MLA ’63) will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal, which recognizes significant and sustained excellence in landscape architecture education. Shlomo Aronson (MLA ’66) will receive the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence, which recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning and design. Finally, Nicholas T. Dines (MLA ’68) will receive the Community Service Award for providing sustained, pro bono service demonstrating the sound principles or values of landscape architecture. Congratulations to all the honorees!

Read the ASLA news release to learn more about the winners.

Image of Charlestown Waterfront Park designed by Stuart Dawson of Sasaki Associates, ©Landslides