Gary Hilderbrand honored with 2017 ASLA Design Medal

hilderbrand_gary1-1Gary Hilderbrand (MLA ’85), professor in practice of landscape architecture at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, will receive the 2017 Design Medal from the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), to be presented during the 2017 ASLA Annual Meeting & EXPO in Los Angeles this fall.

In its announcement of the award, ASLA describes Hilderbrand as “an extraordinarily gifted designer, teacher, critic and author,” and praises him for achieving “the highest level of craftsmanship, design excellence, and responsible sustainability across a broad spectrum of project types.”

Hilderbrand was recently named one of the 25 most admired educators for 2017 by DesignIntelligence. He has taught at the GSD since 1990, and is a Founding Principal and Partner of Reed Hilderbrand.

Past recipients of the ASLA Design Medal include Andrea Cochran (MLA ’79) (2014), Stuart Dawson (MLA ’58) (2013), Peter Walker (MLA ’57) (2012), Michael Van Valkenburgh (2011), Richard Shaw (MLA ’76) (2009), Richard Haag (MLA ’52) (2007), and Lawrence Halprin (BLA ’44) (2003).

Other 2017 ASLA honor recipients include Charles Birnbaum (LF ’98), who will receive the ASLA Medal—the Society’s highest award for a landscape architect; and former GSD faculty member Elizabeth K. Meyer, honored with the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal.

Read the full ASLA announcement.