GSD names 2018 Wheelwright Prize jury

The Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD) is pleased to announce the jury for the 2018 Wheelwright Prize. The jury convenes in February to select finalists for the 2018 Wheelwright Prize, with finalists announced shortly thereafter. Finalists travel to Cambridge, Massachusetts, to present their proposals at Harvard GSD on March 5, and a winner will be named later that month.

The 2018 Wheelwright Prize jury is:

Jose Ahedo, architect and 2014 Wheelwright Prize winner

Edward Eigen, Associate Professor of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, Harvard GSD

Frida Escobedo, architect

Michael Hays, Eliot Noyes Professor of Architectural Theory, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Interim Chair of the Department of Architecture, Harvard GSD

Mark Lee, architect and Professor in Practice of Architecture, Harvard GSD

Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean and Alexander and Victoria Wiley Professor of Design, Harvard GSD

Michelle Wilkinson, Curator, Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of African American History and Culture

The Wheelwright Prize is open to emerging architects practicing anywhere in the world. The primary eligibility requirement is that applicants must have received a degree from a professionally accredited architecture program in the past 15 years. An affiliation to the GSD is not required. Applicants are asked to submit a portfolio, a research proposal, and a travel itinerary that takes them outside their country of residence. Finalists will be asked to travel to the GSD for finalist presentations on March 5, 2018.

In 2013, Harvard GSD revamped the Arthur W. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, which was established in 1935 in memory of Wheelwright, Class of 1887. Intended to encourage the study of architecture outside the United States at a time when international travel was difficult, the award was available only to GSD alumni; past fellows have included Paul Rudolph, Eliot Noyes, William Wurster, Christopher Tunnard, I. M. Pei, Farès el-Dahdah, Adele Santos, and Linda Pollak.

Applicants will be judged on the quality of their design work, scholarly accomplishments, originality or persuasiveness of the research proposal, and evidence of ability to fulfill the proposed project. Finalists will travel to Cambridge, Massachusetts, for finalist presentations on March 5, 2018, at the GSD. A winner will be named in Spring 2018.

Details about eligibility, the application process, and past Wheelwright Prize winners are available at