Zeina Koreitem, John May among Graham Foundation’s 2018 grant awardees

The Harvard Graduate School of Design’s Zeina Koreitem and John May are among the select designers, artists, historians, and others whom the Graham Foundation has honored with its 2018 Grants to Individuals. Announced on April 5, the Graham Foundation’s 2018 Grants to Individuals present $534,850 in new grants to support 74 projects by 111 individuals and collaborators who are “engaging original ideas that advance our understanding of the designed environment,” the Foundation writes.

Koreitem and May were awarded a grant for exhibition “Under Present Conditions,” produced through their Los Angeles-based firm, MILLIØNS, which they founded in 2011. As the project description reads, “Under Present Conditions” documents a series of extended investigations, texts, and design speculations that MILLIØNS has produced in recent years. Together, the firm writes, these projects revitalize the experimental spirit of modernist housing by reimagining its primary typological inventions against the complex technical and political background of contemporary neoliberal urbanism.

At the GSD, Koreitem is Design Critic in Architecture and May is Director of the Master in Design Studies Program and Assistant Professor of Architecture. May recently co-edited the GSD’s Platform 10: Live Feed publication and exhibition.

Other projects among the Graham Foundation’s awardees include exhibitions, publications, films, new media works, and site-specific installations that promote rigorous scholarship, stimulate experimentation, and foster critical discourse in architecture. The funded projects were selected from over 600 proposals and represent a diverse group of individuals and collectives, including architects, artists, choreographers, historians, and filmmakers who hail from around the world.

Koreitem and May join a series of GSD alumni among the Graham Foundation’s 2018 awardees. They include:

Eric Bunge (MArch ’96)

Mimi Hoang (MArch ’98)

Kenny Cupers (PhD ’10)

Rami El Samahy (MArch ’00)

Michael Kubo (MArch ’06)

Alexander Robinson (MLA ’05)

Neyran Turan (DDes ’09)

Bradley Cantrell (MLA ’03)

Marielsa Castro Vizcarra (MDes ’17)

Brian Goldstein (PhD ’13)

Ana Maria Leon Crespo (MDes ’01)

Sun-Young Park (MArch ’08/PhD ’14)

Sara Zewde (MLA ’15)

Read the full list of 2018 Graham Foundation Grants to Individuals via the Graham Foundation’s announcement.