Madison Kim, 2023 Rafael Moneo Rome Prize Winner
Madison Kim, 2023 Rafael Moneo Rome Prize Winner


Established in 2018 by a generous gift from Dr. Seng Kuan AB ’98, MUP ’04, PhD ’11 and Angela Y. Pang MArch ’02, the Rafael Moneo Rome Travel Award is an annual travel award honoring Rafael Moneo, Josep Lluis Sert Professor in Architecture, Emeritus. Professor Moneo believes that the experience and knowledge a student can gain from living in Rome is invaluable: “To center the stage in Rome is especially significant for me considering the importance it had in my own life and education.” — Professor Rafael Moneo

The Rafael Moneo Rome Travel Award provides a financial award to deserving Master of Architecture students in their second year of study to travel to Rome, Italy. The financial award is intended to offset costs related to student travel and living expenses for up to three months. A faculty committee selects a candidate each fall semester.

For deadline and submission information, please visit GSD Now.

Previous Winners:
2024: Kai Huang (MArch II’ 25)
2023: Madison Kim (MArch I’ 25)
2021: Siyu Zhu (MArch I ’24)
2020: Daniel Haidermota (MArch I ’23)
2019: Anna Kaertner (MArch I ’21)
2018: Kaoru Lovett (MArch I ’20)