Harvard GSD announces more academic leadership transitions

Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD) announces more academic leadership changes across academic programs that will go into to effect as of July 1, 2023, in addition to Grace La’s appointment as chair of the Department of Architecture.

Rahul Mehrotra, John T. Dunlop Professor in Housing and Urbanization, is stepping down as Chair of the Department of Urban Planning and Design. Mehrotra has held the Chair since February 2020, and prior to that, from 2010 to 2015. As the School searches for a new chair for the Department of Urban Planning and Design, Ann Forsyth, Ruth and Frank Stanton Professor of Urban Planning, will serve as interim chair through the 2023–2024 school year.

Charles Waldheim, John E. Irving Professor of Landscape Architecture, will become co-director of the Master in Design Studies program alongside K. Michael Hays, Eliot Noyes Professor of Architectural Theory, who will be returning to this role following his sabbatical.

Stephen Gray, Associate Professor of Urban Design, will become the director of the Master of Architecture in Urban Design program and co-director of the Master of Landscape Architecture in Urban Design program, alongside Chris Reed, Professor in Practice of Landscape Architecture.

Andrew Witt, Associate Professor in Practice of Architecture, will become co-director of the Master of Design Engineering program, replacing Martin Bechthold, Kumagai Professor of Architectural Technology.

Martin Bechthold will serve as interim director of the Doctor of Design Studies program for the fall 2023 semester, while Ali Malkawi, Professor of Architectural Technology, takes leave for a sabbatical.