Image: Travel Sketches by Paul Krueger, Wheelwright Fellow 1963–64.
Paul Krueger, Travel Sketches, Wheelwright Fellow 1963–64. Courtesy Paul Krueger and Harvard Graduate School of Design

The Wheelwright Prize is a $100,000 traveling fellowship awarded annually to talented early-career architects worldwide proposing exceptional itineraries for research and discovery. With an open application process, the Wheelwright Prize recognizes the importance of field research to professional development, and reinforces Harvard GSD’s dedication to fostering investigative approaches to contemporary design.

Since 1935, Harvard GSD has awarded the annual Arthur W. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, established in memory of Wheelwright, Class of 1887. Intended to encourage the study of architecture outside the United States, the prize was formerly available only to GSD alumni; past fellows include Paul Rudolph, Eliot Noyes, William Wurster, Christopher Tunnard, I. M. Pei, John Haro, Klaus Herdeg, Farès el-Dahdah, Adele Santos, and Linda Pollak.

Harvard GSD is pleased to broaden the scope of the competition by inviting architects practicing anywhere in the world to apply, proposing research agendas outside one’s country of residence. An affiliation to the GSD is no longer required.

For information on eligibility, deadlines, and to apply visit