Many GSD faculty serve as thesis advisors for students in the Doctor of Design program. The listing below includes faculty available to serve as primary advisors for DDes students, loosely structured according to typical faculty research interests. Primary advisors are typically senior faculty that guide students during the entire program length. They chair the thesis committees that form in the second year of the program. Thesis committees normally include three individuals, of which two need to have an appointment at the GSD. For a listing of all full-time and part-time faculty eligible to serve on a DDes thesis committee, please consult the GSD faculty directory.

Urbanism and Landscape Architecture

Neil Brenner, Professor of Urban Theory
Anita Berrizbeitia, Professor of Landscape Architecture
Gareth Doherty, Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture
Niall Kirkwood, Professor of Landscape Architecture and Technology
Alex Krieger, Professor in Practice of Urban Design
Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean, and Alexander and Victoria Wiley Professor of Design
Peter G. Rowe, Raymond Garbe Professor of Architecture and Urban Design and Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor
John Stilgoe, Robert and Lois Orchard Professor in the History of Landscape Development
Charles Waldheim, John E. Irving Professor of Landscape Architecture

Planning and Real Estate

Sai Balakrishnan, Assistant Professor of Urban Planning
Joan Busquets, Martin Bucksbaum Professor in Practice of Urban Planning and Design
Diane Davis, Charles Dyer Norton Professor of Regional Planning and Urbanism
Ann Forsyth, Professor of Urban Planning
José A. Gómez-Ibáñez, Derek Bok Professor of Urban Planning and Public Policy
Jerold Kayden, Frank Backus Williams Professor of Urban Planning and Design
Alex Krieger, Professor in Practice of Urban Design
Richard Peiser, Michael D. Spear Professor of Real Estate Development
Bing Wang, Associate Professor in Practice of Real Estate and the Built Environment

Technology and Innovation

Martin Bechthold, Kumagai Professor of Architectural Technology
Niall Kirkwood, Professor of Landscape Architecture and Technology
Ali Malkawi, Professor of Architectural Technology
Holly Samuelson, Assistant Professor of Architecture

Architecture, Criticism, and Contemporary Practice

K. Michael Hays, Eliot Noyes Professor of Architectural Theory
Rahul Mehrotra, Professor of Urban Design and Planning
Farshid Moussavi, Professor in Practice of Architecture
Erika Naginski, Robert P. Hubbard Professor of Architectural History
Antoine Picon, G. Ware Travelstead Professor of the History of Architecture and Technology